The Twelve Apostles

The Twelve Apostles is a short study on the Twelve Apostles of Jesus Christ. These are his closest followers.

The Twelve Apostles

The first point is to simply note that these men were called of Jesus to be his closest followers, and in whom, Jesus highly trusted. The purpose or mission or ministry or calling of these men were to be eye witnesses to the life, ministry, miracles, and teaching of Jesus. The ancient mind is lauded in many cases as having a fantastic memory. While we have paper and pencil, and many other forms of taking notes and remembering things, the ancients did not have all of these things. The best and most useful of memory aids was simply a broken piece of pottery that had something scribbled on it.

But the ancients had excellent memories.

Since they did not have TVs, cell phones, electronic tablets, computers or even books, these people had customs of sitting around a fire at night and telling each other stories. After many times of telling the same story, they had developed excellent memories.

Books were literally not discovered as of the New Testament times, but they had long scrolls and animal skins with words on them, for those who were fortunate enough to be able to read and write. That in itself was a rarity also.

List of the 12 Apostles

The 12 Apostles of Jesus:

1. Peter (also known as Simon Peter)

2. Andrew (Simon Peter’s brother)

3. James son of Zebedee

4. John (James’ brother)

5. Philip

6. Bartholomew

7. Thomas

8. Matthew

9. James son of Alphaeus

10. Thaddaeus (Judas, son of James)

11. Simon the Zealot

12. Judas Iscariot (who betrayed Jesus)

Links go to

Judas Iscariot

One of these twelve men was the one who would betray Jesus. While Christ knew this, he chose him anyway. To fulfill prophecy, he had to have one of them as his traitor.

The Twelve Apostles

More Classes of People